Tuesday, May 30, 2017

5th Place Finish Earns 3rd straight top 5 of the Season at Slinger

Grant Griesbach and Alex Prunty led the field to the green flag in the 75 lap feature. Caution would fly on lap 2 for an incident involving Ryan DeStefnao. He would retire from the event with right front damage. Dennis Prunty started his move to the front passing Alex Prunty on lap 12 before another caution flew on lap 14 for a Jeff Holtz spin. Steve Apel moved into 3rd by the time that caution flew. Another caution flew on lap 18 when Steve Apel and Alex Prunty got together in turn 4. Chris Blawat was also involved sustaining major front end damage ending his night. During that caution period oil from the Randy Schuler’s car was found on the racing surface and was the reason for the caution giving Apel and Alex Prunty there spots back. The feature from that point on went caution free seeing Apel move to 2nd on lap 22 and Gary LaMonte to 3rd on lap 26 setting up a thrilling battle over the final 49 laps. Dennis Prunty was able to hold off both Apel and LaMonte to pick up his first feature win of the season at Slinger in his first appearance..
“Its just great to finish a feature” Dennis said in victory lane referring to his early season struggles in the ARCA Midwest tour. “I hope to be back next week to try it again” Prunty announced. Steve Apel continued his early season success finishing 2nd with LaMonte ending up 3rd. Brad Mueller finished 4th with Alex Prunty rounding out the top 5. Jeff Holtz won the 30 lap semi feature. Dave McCardell, Cole Rouse and Randy Schuler transferred to the main event along with Holtz.

Heat race winners were Jacob Vanoskey, Fred Winn, and Ryan DeStefano. Steve Apel and Gary LaMonte tied in qualifying with 11.365 laps. Apel turned the lap first and was awarded the fast qualifier.

Super Late Models - Feature    May 28, 2017
PosCar #Driver
142PDennis Prunty
251ASteve Apel
363LGary LaMonte
489MBrad Mueller
511PAlex Prunty
692MConrad Morgan
748KBrad Keith
838WNick Wagner
999RCole Rouse
1038HJeff Holtz
119LTim Lampman
1266MDave McCardle
1375WFred Winn
1417GGrant Griesbach
1598BRobert Braun
1626BChris Blawat
1772SRandy Schuler
1835DTravis Dassow
190DRyan DeStefano